Subscription Box Coupons, Subscription Box Reviews, Blog, Foodstirs Coupons, Foodstirs Reviews

Foodstirs Out of This World Donut Kit Review + 20% Off Coupon

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 41

Today we are reviewing Foodstirs!

Foodstirs is a baking subscription for kids and families. You'll get creative baking kits delivered every other month, just in time for sweetening the season with friends and family.

What's inside a box:

  • One of a kind, organic baking mixes that are non-GMO and fair trade to make the best brownies, cakes, or cookies.
  • Natural decorations for your goodies, without the chemicals.
  • Cookie cutters, molds, and pastry cups to make baking less stressful.
  • A recipe card with clear instructions.

Price: $25.99

Ships to: Continental US

DEAL: Get 20% Off Foodstirs with this link and coupon code YUMBOXY

Foodstirs sent us this kit for review purposes.

Foodstirs Out of This World Donut Kit Review

Foodstirs ships their baking goodies in a light blue box.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 2

Here’s our first peek into the box! Foodstirs sends you baking ingredients that are all-organic and non-GMO. Foodstirs is a junk-free bakery – they use biodynamic cane sugar, identity preserved flour, fair trade cocoa, and chemical free colors!

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 3

The info card shows us the recipe what we’re going to make this month. We are making Out of This World donuts! This card shows you all the ingredients that you’ll need and all the kitchen tools that you’ll need. Most of the ingredients were already included in this box. All we needed to provide was butter, eggs, yogurt, and milk. We already had those ingredients on-hand! I like that it also shows you what tools you need to make this recipe.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 4

There are step-by-step color instructions to help make this recipe a lot easier, which is especially helpful for kids (and adults!)!

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 5

There are some extra tips here, stating that you can use three donuts and stack them together to make a donut cake. You can also add half a cup of fresh blueberries in the batter to add more color and flavor.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 6

The back of this card has nutritional information for each food item in this box, including ingredients and allergen information. I really love that they include Allergan information especially with all of the allergies floating around these days!

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 7

This is a look at all of the items that we got with this month's box.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 8

Let's take a closer look to see what we got!

We got a purple Foodstirs silicone donut pan.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 9

We got Foodstirs Organic Sunday Stacks Pancake Mix.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 10

We got Foodstirs organic glaze mix.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 11

We got a dye-free diamond sugar packet. We a;sp got plant-based dye packets in both pink and bright blue.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 12

Making the Donuts

We started by spraying the Foodstirs baking pan with coconut oil spray. My son really liked trying to do this, although I had to kind of finish the job for him. 🙂

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 43

Then we cracked the eggs. I gave each of my sons a “crack” at cracking eggs, and one of them was successful. This is a skill that will need to work on!

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 44

Then we added melted butter to the eggs and whisked it together.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 45

My sons took turns with the whisk.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 46

We also added milk.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 47

Then came the yogurt.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 48

And then we added the Foodstirs pancake mix.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 49

Then we combined all of the ingredients together with the whisk.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 51

Once blended, we needed to fill the donut pan about halfway full with the batter. I used my pancake batter dispenser to make this process quite a bit easier.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 53

We put the donuts in the oven to bake at 350 degrees Farenheit for 12 minutes. Once the donuts came out of the oven we let them cool in the baking pan for about 10 minutes, on top of a cooling rack.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 20

The donuts came out so easily out of the silicone baking pan. They basically fell out! I have an aluminum nonstick donut baking pan and it is so hard to get the donuts out of the pan!

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 21

While the donuts were cooling we went ahead and made the icing glaze for the donuts. We had to mix the blue and pink plant based dyes to make purple and then we also made pink and purple separate dyes, in addition to adding the icing glaze mix and a bit of milk.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 13

In order to make the galactic icing color, we just drizzled three different dye colors over the white icing glaze.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 26

The next step was just to dip the donuts in the glaze. This is a lot of fun for my son.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 30

The next thing we did was add the sugar sprinkles on the top of the donuts.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 34

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 38

Once the glaze was really nearly dry they were ready to eat. Don’t these donuts look just out of this world?

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 40

My kids really loved eating these donuts and we really enjoyed an afternoon of baking together.

foodstirs january 2021 review out of this world donuts 41

Wrap Up

Foodstirs is a really great junk free bakery service that sends you all the ingredients you need to have a fun-filled afternoon of baking with your kiddos. These galactic donuts were really out of this world and we had so much fun making them. The donuts look awesome and tasted really good, too. Foodstirs makes it really easy to bake with your kids with pre-measured, junk-free ingredients and recipes that are super appealing to kids! It also helped me spend some quality time with my kids, with an added bonus of teaching them some life skills in the kitchen!

What do you think of Foodstirs?

You can buy the Out of This World Donut Kit here, or subscribe to Foodstirs to get a new baking kit monthly!

DEAL: Get 20% Off Foodstirs with this link and coupon code YUMBOXY

 


Foodstirs Spoilers

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *