Subscription Box Reviews, Kids Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Box Coupons, Kids Subscription Box Coupons, Blog, Oyster Reviews

Oyster Box November 2021 Review + Coupon

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021 11 04 15.35.37

We are excited to share with our Oyster Box November 2021 Review and coupon! This is our first box, and My 10 and 12 year old boys loved every activity in this box! This is now one of their favorite subscription boxes!

Oyster introduces kids ages 5-9 to different STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math) careers that they typically wouldn't explore each month. Your child will get 3-5 experiments per kit that take 2+ hours to complete. You'll get items like costumes and activities that are reusable. You kids will  role-play and learn real-life skills with Oyster. Remember, the world is your Oyster!

DEAL: Get 15% off ANY Oyster subscription plan using this link and coupon code SUBBOXY

Ships to: US

Shipping Cost: FREE

Oyster kindly sent us this box to review.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review

Oyster sent their STEM activities in an orange box.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.34.20

Here’s everything we got in our Oyster November 2021 box!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.35.37

There are three “Treasure Hunter” activities in this box. First, we’ll dig up artifacts using a brush, hammer and stick. Second, we’ll restore an old tile mosaic. And third, we’ll reconstruct a dinosaur skeleton. 

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.35.45

They also included an Archaeologist and Paleontologist guide. This guide explains what archaelogists and paleontologists do to help your kiddos learn about these careers. I love that!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.35.52

This guide also includes links to watch videos, complete some tasks, and take some tests with the QR code they provided. You can also get a chance to tour different countries and imagine you’re time-traveling back to ancient times! 

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.36.00

In the guidebook, you will learn how paleontologists and archaeologists solve historical mysteries, such as what tools they used to dig and look for traces. You can also learn about the Greek God — Poseidon, and different kinds of dinosaurs – and learn more about people in the past.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.36.09

Rome – Ancient Brick

Our first activity was to dig into an “ancient brick from Ancient Rome” with artifacts that are still buried in them!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.36.18

Oyster provided all the tools that we needed to do the experiments. They provided us with a clay brick, a small brush, and a hammer with a stick for the first experiment.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.37.34

For the first expedition, my 10-year old son needed to help Professor Macdiggens excavate this ancient brickwork — a specimen from Ancient Rome. I helped him prepare all the tools he would use — starting with the clay brick, a small brush, a hammer, and chisel.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 17.54.31

My son placed the clay brick inside the box (which was convenient to contain the mess!), and then placed the chisel on the brick.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 17.54.23

He tapped on it with the hammer, and after used the brush to clean some of the dust off the brick.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 17.54.26

After a while of hammering and chiseling, he found some artifacts – coins! He just needed to chip some more of the brick away to unearth the coins!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.03.40

And he finally chipped away all of the brick — it all turned into fine clay dust! I have to tell you that my son LOVES excavation kits like these! 

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.56.42

Here are the seven ancient coin artifacts that he found in they brick! He was so proud of himself once he was done! 

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.09.20

Greece – Poseidon Mosaic

For the second project, Oyster provided a blank craft paper, sticky pads, and colorful mosaic.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.38.16

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.38.47

This project is supposed to help us restore the image of the Greek God of the Sea — Poseidon!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.36.33

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.36.45

For our expedition to Greece, our task was to help professor McDiggens dig up an image of the Greek God of the Sea — Poseidon! For this task, my son removed the protective film from the colorful mosaic base, and created a mosaic after placing a square foam tile on the base. 

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.09.06

He’s done placing all the colorful squares on the right places — and can you guess what or who it looks like?

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.42.55

And here’s the mosaic image of Poseidon — God of the Sea, in ancient Greek Mythology.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.43.01

Then after he finished the colorful mosaic, my son made a cool frame using this pre-scored, pre-cut red card stock. I helped him fold the frame corners, and he adhered them to the bottom of the frame using the 3M foam stickers.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 17.57.41

Then he stuck the mosaic inside the frame using the sticky pads. And, finally — it’s done! He likes how colorful and shiny this “tile” mosaic is!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.55.02

Here’s a side view of the Poseidon Mosaic. My son is so excited to put this in his room on his nightstand!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.55.18

Mexico – Dinosaur

Our last project was to reconstruct the skeleton of a dinosaur while on an expedition in Mexico!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.36.57

Oyster provided us with colored clay and pieces of the dinosaur.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.39.25

In our Mexico expedition, Professor Dino needs our help to reconstruct the skeleton of a dinosaur. For this task, we needed to punch out the dinosaur skieleton bones and use the blue and violet clay.

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 17.56.28

My son popped out all the dinosaur skeleton pieces from wooden sheets. I helped him with this, because there were a lot of “bones”!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 17.56.25

After snapping out all the dinosaur’s bones, my son then fit all the right pieces together. We just matched up the numbers to fit the bones together – it was so easy and we didn't need a diagram to do this! 

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.01.55

When we finally finished assembling the skeleton, he covered the skeletons with the blue and violet clay. He started with the blue clay and then the violet clay for the spikes part of the dinosaur. He also added the dinosaur's eyes. 

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.56.09

We waited for a couple of hours for the colored clay to set and it was done! He said it looks like a real dinosaur! My son really adored this dino project!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-14 18.56.31

We did use this handy fabric mat from Oyster to help contain our mess for these projects. It’s so nice and colorful!

Oyster Box November 2021 Review 2021-11-04 15.40.03

Wrap Up

Our first Oyster Box was full of amazing Paleontologist and Archaeologist activities that my boys just LOVED! I like how Oyster introduced my boys to the brick excavation, tile mosaic creation, and dinosaur modeling projects. They provided all the materials we needed to accomplish each activity! Each activity taught them about a potential career path of a Paleontologist and Archaeologist! This is a fun and exciting way to learn and prepare for the future! I would have to say this was one of my kids' FAVORITE subscription boxes. This box is only $33.95 — such a great deal! My boys can’t wait for next month’s Oyster kits!

What do you think of Oyster Box November 2021 Box?

Learn more about Oyster Box here!


About Oyster Box

Oyster introduces kids ages 5-9 to different STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math) careers that they typically wouldn't explore each month. Your child will get 3-5 experiments per kit that take 2+ hours to complete. You'll get items like costumes and activities that are reusable. You kids will  role-play and learn real-life skills with Oyster. Remember, the world is your Oyster!

DEAL: Get 15% off ANY Oyster subscription plan using this link and coupon code SUBBOXY

Ships to: US

Shipping Cost: FREE


Oyster Coupons

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *