Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Box Coupons, Tinker Crate Coupons, Tinker Crate Reviews, Blog

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review – Walking Robot + Coupon

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 023 2

Today, we are reviewing the March 2021 Tinker Crate! This month’s project was a Walking Robot!

Tinker Crate is a STEM subscription box for kids ages 9-16+. Each month, you'll get all the materials and step-by-step instructions you need to build a creative, innovative STEM project. You'll also get the Tinker Zine magazine that will be filled with additional science content and activities.

Tinker Crate is great for kids who aspire to be scientists, engineers, and innovators!

Price: $19.95/month

Ships to: US, Worldwide

Shipping Cost: FREE (US), Varies (Worldwide)

Tinker Crate Deal: Save 30% off your first month of any KiwiCo line with this link and coupon code SHARE30.

Tinker Crate Walking Robot

 Tinker Crate’s sends their monthly STEM project in an orange box.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 022

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s inside our box! My 9-year old son was so excited to see a Walking Robot project. If you know my boys, they loove anything that moves!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 023

And this is the “blueprint” of our project for this month! We love how illustrated, step-by-step instructions are included. It makes the assembly process much easier!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 002

The detailed instructions have two parts: building the body and adding the limbs. The instructions are very easy to follow and they also have a video tutorial about this at tinkercrate.com/robot!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 003

Here are all the materials we got – and there are no missing pieces. We didn’t need to supply anything ourselves, since everything is included in the box from tape to sticky foams, hinges, batteries, bolts, etc.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 004

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 005

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 006

This was our finished Walking Robot! It’s so cool!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 020

Tinker Crate’s Magazine, Tinker Zine, featured lots of articles about Radical Robotics. My son was fascinated by it and eagerly read each page!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 024

There were six articles featured in the Tinker Zine and all of them were very interesting!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 025

The articles were very well-written and easy to understand for a kid’s vocabulary.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 026

They also featured the Curiosity Rover Robot that was recently sent to Mars!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 027

And aside from the Walking Robot, you can also make other robot designs of your own! Tinker Zine provides easy DIY robot designs that you can make in no time!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 001

Our Assembly of the Walking Robot

My son started by putting the sticky foam in place as marked on the cardboard and added the motor to the body.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 007

Then we firmly pressed the cardboard with the sticky foam to ensure that it has a tight grip.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 008

So here’s the finished body! We secured it along with the tape provided and attached the motor with the body. The cranks should be in opposite directions so they will work the right way.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 009

We then connected the wires. It’s red-to-red and black-to-black. This will make the robot walk forward.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 010

You can also connect the wires as red-to-black. This will make the robot walk backward.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 011

And then we connected the arm and leg limbs. Just make sure that all of the bolts and hinges are not too tight so that it will move smoothly! We did have to adjust this just a bit!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 012

The limbs should look like this. It should be able to stand on its own (on a table or hardwood floor) and the robot’s “feet” don’t touch each other.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 013

We then put sticky foam on the front side where the body panel should be put.

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 014

And this is how the robot turned out!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 015

To get the robot working, my son just hit the switch on the electronic motor. This is when the robot started walking forward. My son was in awe and was so proud that he put this together mostly by himself!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 019

My son was so impressed, he proudly showed his dad what he created! He also tried switching the colors of the wires and this robot did walk backward!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 016

Wrap Up

This Walking Robot from the Tinker Crate March 2021 Box was so fun for my son to assemble and play with! He learned about kinetic energy and some of the laws of motion. He was so proud that he was able to make his very first, moving robot! My son said this project was one of his favorite Tinker Crate boxes – and we have received many in the last several months. Tinker Crate has helped my son and I work on unique, fun STEM-based activities that making spending at home (which we have done A LOT of lately!) a lot more exciting!

Tinker Crate Deal: Save 30% off your first month of any KiwiCo line with this link and coupon code SHARE30.

Learn more or subscribe to Tinker Crate here!

Tinker Crate March 2021 Review 023


About Tinker Crate

Tinker Crate is a STEM subscription box for kids ages 9-16+. Each month, you'll get all the materials and step-by-step instructions you need to build a creative, innovative STEM project. You'll also get the Tinker Zine magazine that will be filled with additional science content and activities.

Tinker Crate is great for kids who aspire to be scientists, engineers, and innovators!

Tinker Crate Deal: Save 30% off your first month of any KiwiCo line with this link and coupon code SHARE30.

Price: $19.95/month

Ships to: US, Worldwide

Shipping Cost: FREE (US), Varies (Worldwide)


Tinker Crate Reviews


KiwiCo Coupons

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *